Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello all! Sorry I’ve been a bad blogger!

Continuing along the same lines of my last post, I’m very excited to tell you that there’s a movement going on in the lingerie blogging world. It’s called #DiversityInLingerie. Most of the participants so far are located outside of the US, and I want to help bring it to this wonderfully diverse country of mine.

  When you look at a lingerie catalog, or anywhere lingerie is being advertised, what do the models look like? Do they look like you, or do they look more like unattainably over-Photoshopped women? Probably the latter. I know when I look in the mirror while I’m in my underpants, nothing is in soft focus, and my hair isn’t blowing in the breeze (Seriously, why are lingerie models always caught in hurricanes?). I have wide hips, large thighs, stretch marks, and moles.

  What lingerie companies think of as flaws are the very things that make us special and diverse. How are we supposed to relate to women that have been smoothed and tucked to where their own mothers wouldn’t recognize them? I want lingerie companies to show me what average, un-Photoshopped women look like in their lingerie. I want to see diverse groups of women in lingerie that fits. I want to see women of color, I want to see women with disabilities, I want to see women with tattoos, I want to see women with mommy tummies, I want to see women with stretch marks and cellulite. I want to see all of those women, because they are real. If you go out into a crowd of women, that is what you will see, and I would bet that almost all of them are wearing some form of lingerie. If we live in the most diverse country, why is that not reflected in advertising?

 

This is my contribution to the movement.

Image

See that little squidgy bit of my arm? I purposefully made that show in this picture because I used to hate that little part of my arms. I hated it because I thought no one else had it. Not even plus size lingerie models seem to have that bit of upper arm fluff. Then I realized that many women have that “flaw”, and wear long sleeves even in blistering heat because they are ashamed of it. By cutting out parts of a model’s body that many women have, lingerie companies teach us that we are to be ashamed of those parts. If women and girls see pictures of women that look like them, maybe they will realize that it’s okay to have that bit of arm pudge, or small breasts, or dark skin, or scars, or countless other things that they are told are flaws. They will realize that diversity is beautiful.

 

From Anna at brasandbodyimage.wordpress.com:

Starting from now, if you would like to join the campaign, just take a picture of yourself alongside the hashtag #DiversityInLingerie. It doesn’t have to be in lingerie or even include your face – you can be fully clothed, in your undies, whatever you like. Then, post it on as much social media as you can and make sure you type the hashtag in the text accompanying your post. You can also email it to June at Braless in Brasil to put on her blog, or feel free to add it to my (or another blogger’s) facebook page or to send it anonymously through a message. The more people participating the better!